Foreign Languages by Department

The School of Literatures, Cultural Studies and Linguistics offers basic language sequences in fourteen languages. Any of these sequences—with the exception of Portuguese—can be used to fulfill the LAS Foreign Language Requirement.

* For Chinese and Spanish, we offer separate language sequences designed specifically for heritage speakers (CHIN 111-112 and SPAN 113-114). In this case, a heritage speaker is defined as a person who was exposed to Chinese or Spanish at home, but who was educated primarily in English.


The Language Studio in UH 1650:

Language-specific tutoring for 100-level language courses

Writing tutors for major/minor courses (200-level and up)



Language Coordinator E-mail Department Why study...
Arabic Mustapha Kamal
mustaphk@uic.edu Classics  Why study Arabic?
Chinese Xuehua Xiang
xxiang@uic.edu Linguistics Why study Chinese?
French
Dolly Weber
edweber@uic.edu French and Francophone Studies Why study French?
German Stephen McClure smcclu4@uic.edu Germanic Studies Why study German?
Italian Chiara Fabbian cfabbian@uic.edu Hispanic and Italian Studies Why study Italian?
Japanese Mika Changet mchang7@uic.edu Linguistics Why study Japanese?
Korean  Hanae Kim  kimh@uic.edu
Linguistics Why study Korean?
Latin Jennifer Tobin jtobin@uic.edu Classics  Why study Latin?
Lithuanian Giedrius Subacius subacius@uic.edu Slavic and Baltic Languages and Literatures Why study Lithuanian?
Modern Greek Anita Skarpathiotis askarpat@uic.edu Classics  Why study Modern Greek?
Polish Anna Szawara
szawara@uic.edu Slavic and Baltic Languages and Literatures Why study Polish?
Portuguese Joao Felipe Marin Vaz Amaro
jmarin22@uic.edu
Hispanic and Italian Studies
Why study Portuguese?
Russian Anna Szawara szawara@uic.edu Slavic and Baltic Languages and Literatures Why study Russian?
Spanish
(non-native speakers)
Claudia Fernández  cferna5@uic.edu Hispanic and Italian Studies Why study Spanish?
Spanish
*heritage speakers
Professor Kim Potowski kimpotow@uic.edu Hispanic and Italian Studies Why study Spanish?