Faculty

Name Title
Email Address
Patrick Fortmann
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
fortmann@uic.edu
Sara Hall
Associate Professor
Director, Office of Undergraduate Research
Chair of Moving Image Arts
Interim Director of the School of Literatures, Cultural Studies and Linguistics
sahall@uic.edu
Elizabeth Loentz Associate Professor loentz@uic.edu
Imke Meyer Professor ixmeyer@uic.edu
Susanne Rott
Associate Professor of Germanic Studies and Linguistics
Department Head
Language Program Director for German
srott@uic.edu
Heidi Schlipphacke Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
heidis@uic.edu
Astrida Tantillo
Professor
Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
tantillo@uic.edu
To request changes to your faculty page fill out the Webpage Update Request Form. 


Affiliated Faculty

Name
Title
Email Address
Alfred Thomas
Professor, Department of English
alfredt@uic.edu
Kay E. Gonzalez-
Vilbazo

Associate Professor for Linguistics in the department of Spanish, French, Italian and Portuguese
 kgv@uic.edu
Richard S.Levy
Professor, History Department
 rslevy@uic.edu
Matthew Lippman
Professor, Department of Criminal
Justice
 mlippman@uic.edu
Sally Sedgwick
Professor of Philosophy
 sedgwick@uic.edu

Emeriti

Name
Title Email Address
Helga W. Kraft
Professor Emerita
 kraft@uic.edu
Dagmar Lorenz Professor Emerita
dlorenz@uic.edu
Leroy R.Shaw
Professor Emeritus
 
David M.Weible
Professor Emeritus
weible@uic.edu

past visiting faculty

Name
Title  Year
Christian Klein Bergische Universität Wuppertal
Fall 2018
Peter Rehberg
ICI Institute for Cultural Inquiry
Spring
2018 
Karin Madlener Assistentin Deutsche Sprachwissenschaft Fall 2016
Christoph Rauen Lecturer, Institut für Neuere Deutsche Literatur und Medien, Christian-Albrechts Universität zu Kiel, Fall 2015
Wolfgang Emmerich

Professor Emeritus, Universität Bremen

Fall 2013
Volker Pantenburg
Assistant Professor, Bauhaus-Universitaet Weimar Fall 2012
Ekaterina Pirozhenko

Lecturer in German Studies,
Assistant Dean of Admissions
and Academic Advising,
Cornell University

2012
Dieter Borchmeyer
Professor Emeritus, Universitat
Heidelberg, President of the
Bavarian Academy for the Fine
Arts
Fall 2011
Primus-Heinz Kucher
Professor of German Literature,
University of Klangenfurt
Fall 2008
Monika Richarz
Professor Emeritus, Hamburg
Fall 2007
Gertrud Koch
Professor, Freie Universität
Berlin
Fall 2006
Josef Haslinger
Writer Spring 2006
Elke Liebs Professor, University
of Potsdam
Fall 2003
Hiltrud Häntzschel Spring 2003
Barbara von Bechtolsheim
Fall 2002
Ruth Beckermann
Filmmaker Fall 2002
Monika Treut
Filmmaker Fall 2001
Marlene Streeruwitz
Writer Fall 2000